Two Rivers Public Charter School began in the Capitol Hill neighborhood in the fall of 2004. Following three years leasing space in a wing of another school Two Rivers moved the elementary school to their current home on 4th Street NE, and then followed with a new middle school in 2009. To offer their high-quality education to more DC students Two Rivers decided to expand. In 2013 Two Rivers was awarded a long-term lease of the shuttered Charles E. Young School building on 26th Street NE where they have replicated their program at a second elementary school. The historic Charles E. Young School, set on a hill with its iconic cupola, is a stately building. Built in the 1930’s, with later additions built in the 1940s, 1950s and 1970s the current building area totals approximately 70,000sf. Following years of neglect and vandalism Two Rivers is excited to have given a new life to the building. cox graae + spack architects had the challenge of creating the spirit of Two Rivers found at their 4th Street school at their new Young School location. Classroom corridors have sitting niches for small group projects, and projecting classroom bays with large amounts of glass to maintain the feeling of openness that is a part of the Two Rivers culture. In the Community Room, Sitting Steps - a feature loved at the 4th St. building - connects an upper floor art gallery to the main multipurpose space. Under the Sitting Steps facing toward the Lobby is a reading nook. The building was certified LEED Gold in 2016.